007: Messi Wins Record Seventh Ballon d’or

007: Messi Wins Record Seventh Ballon d’or

The Ballon d’or has been recognized to be the most respectable award in football and has along the years represented the title for the best footballer of the year.
It was cancelled in 2020 due to Covid-19’s effects on the football season, a year which majority of fans believe Robert Lewandowski should have won. The 2021 Ballon d’or awards ceremony was scheduled for 30th November 2021 and has once again one with surprises. Below are award winners and runner’s up for this year’s Ballon d’or;
Trophee Kopa
This award is for Youngsters below the age of 21.
Winner: Pedri Gonzalez (Barcelona and Spain)2. Jude Bellingham (Dortmund and England)
3. Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich and Germany)
4. Nuno Mendes (PSG and Portugal)
5. Mason Greenwood (Manchester United and England)
Trophee Yachine
This award is for the best goalkeeper
Winner: Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG and Italy)2. Edouard Mendy (Chelsea and Senegal)
3. Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid and Slovenia)
4. Ederson (Manchester City and Brazil)
5. Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich and Germany)
Women’s Ballon d’or
This award is for the best female footballer of the year
Winner: Alexia Putellas (Barcelona and Spain)2. Jennifer Hermoso (Barcelona)
3. Sam Kerr (Chelsea)
4. Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)
5. Lieke Martens (Barcelona)
Ballon d’or
This award is for the best male footballer of the year.
Winner: Lionel Messi (PSG and Argentina)2. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich and Poland)
3. Frello Jorginho (Chelsea and Italy)
4. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid and France)
5. Ngolo Kanye (Chelsea and France)
In addition to these awards, two new awards were also added, the
Best strikers award (made to specially compensate Robert Lewandowski)and the Club of the year Award won by Chelsea.This year’s Ballon d’or ceremony also hosted a few non super stars like Marvel’s Spiderman actors, Tom Holland and Zendaya. It also marked Messi’s 7th Ballon d’or, making him the footballer with most Ballon d’ors in football history two ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo who has five and also didn’t attend the awards ceremony due to unknown reasons.

0 comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.